top of page

LOST IN THOUGHT

  • Writer's pictureEmma Claire

Speed Limit Twenty-Five


Speed limit twenty-five, Well, I guess so is mine, But your presence always seems to linger. It gives just enough time, To relive the faded memories of our life. They were defining times, But I wish you had more time to live them. Is there something I should have done, Even though you weren’t the one? I get sucked back in time Every night that I drive on Eighth Street. I think about what was running through your mind The night we lost your smile. How can I remember you when I burned every picture of our juvenile love? Would you forgive me if I wished we had only stayed friends? Speed limit twenty-five, Sometimes I speed it not to cry, But the tears always come back when I need you. It consumes way too much time, From one sign to the next light, And in the meantime, that three-month-long loop plays through my mind. You deserved more, Always made me laugh so hard that I was never bored. I get sucked back in time Every night that I see your old friends. And I think about what was running through your mind The night we lost your smile. How could I celebrate you when I wasn’t even given balloons? Would you forgive me if I said sometimes I think those thoughts too? I swear I would have saved you, If I just had known. But the saddest part is that everyone saw it all along. I tried to help you, but you couldn’t open up, And I do not blame you, I just want one more hug.



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Love Affair Between the Good and the Bad

(Author's Note: I wrote this essay in August of 2022 as a mandatory assignment for my entire freshman class based on our common reading for the year titled, Renewal. Last week I got an email saying I

Windshield Wipers

On my way home, It starts to snow. It’s not cold enough to stick, Just stays there in sprinkles across my windshield, Melting into each other. I let the droplets pile up until I can’t see anymore, Lik

bottom of page