top of page

LOST IN THOUGHT

  • Writer's pictureEmma Claire

Windshield Wipers

On my way home,

It starts to snow.

It’s not cold enough to stick,

Just stays there in sprinkles across my windshield,

Melting into each other.

I let the droplets pile up until I can’t see anymore,

Like the tears that I can’t stop from pouring out.

I always find myself here,

Pushing myself to the breaking point

When I could have clicked on my windshield wipers at any time.

I’d rather swerve off the road,

Lose all footing with reality,

Than to use my goddamn windshield wipers.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Love Affair Between the Good and the Bad

(Author's Note: I wrote this essay in August of 2022 as a mandatory assignment for my entire freshman class based on our common reading for the year titled, Renewal. Last week I got an email saying I

Diner Coffee

October 28th, 2022- Flash Fiction “Betty, come on, your coffee sucks today,” John said lifting the mug that has touched every person in this town’s lips to leave yet another trail of battery acid down

bottom of page