top of page

LOST IN THOUGHT

  • Writer's pictureEmma Claire

Sacred Sundays: Slowing Down

Updated: Nov 22, 2022

Almost every Sunday is a Sacred Sunday for me, but today is especially so as it is the last Sunday of the month. My first Sacred Sundays post was the last Sunday of March and now I look down to see April slipping through my fingers like the threshold of an hourglass moments before the sand ceases its fall.



My goal for the month of April was to continue stringing elements of balance into my life with steady motions that allow me time to not only be alive but to flourish like the buds on the trees surrounding my home. I think I did just that this month as I sit here in retrospect of my past few weeks containing memories of my first few spring-time solo hikes, holding on to hope for the ever so out of reach summer radiance, and delving back into hobbies that make me who I am. This month I read Where The Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens which continued to interlace nature and warm weather themes into my life as well as reminding me to take it day by day. Slowing down has allowed me to recapture the beauty that is blossoming all around me and be grateful for all that I have because I may not have it the same tomorrow.


With taking more time for my hobbies, I found myself really weighing the odds of conserving my energy. Making plans is hard because even when I do not want to go out I typically end up giving in, but trecently I have been trying to make the conscious choice to prioritize myself so I do not become overwhelmingly vulnerable and irritatable in scoial situations. I blame this partially on Aries season being in full swing (I am so thankful it is finally Taurus season because I feel like the world is finally healing itself after the last month or so) and partially on a factor that I did not piece together until just yesterday. About a month ago I lost one of the black tourmaline earrings that I wear almost every single day because it works wonders on me regarding its protective properties and I did not even get upset because I just knew it would find its way back to me when I needed it. Over this past month, or two is when I noticed myself feeling under attack more frequently and irrationality seemed to have such a presence in my life, so as soon as I found my other earring I knew that was coming to a close and peace was reintroducing itself. I still do not even know where I found the earring I just looked down and it was there so I put them both in and went about my day. My energy went up almost immediately as suddenly I felt so inspired to pick up my guitar again which has been collecting a thin layer of dust between my infrequent plays and sitting here writing this post can certainly be accredited to this event as well, in comparison to my lack the past month.


January was an escape, February was reality, March was balanced, April was steady, and May shall be full of excitement. Both the fruits of my labors and May flowers will bloom as I finish high school and feel the first winds of summer air reach my hair. This month marks my last days of high school which is still incredibly surreal, I have so many fun events planned like prom, concerts, and finally not having to wear a jacket outside. May is exciting. I am excited for May and to take my knowledge of the previous four months of this year into account as I embrace the fun aspects of life.


Thank you for reading the second Sacred Sundays post and I will look forward to updating you all on my current life standings another month from now!


-Emma Claire

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page