top of page

LOST IN THOUGHT

  • Writer's pictureEmma Claire

Sacred Sundays: Balance

Updated: Nov 22, 2022

Sunday nights are a void of me-time essential for a balanced week. A time for long, hot showers and dirty laundry to be wafted away. Where I can cleanse last week's weight off into the drain where it circles around into a fresh start. Low lights reminiscent of the candlelight era cast shadows on my postered walls full of the things I love. Reading whichever novel I am currently enthralled by and imagining a life where people post my own words on their Pinterest feeds. I could never make plans on a Sunday night because it is a plan in itself, I drink tea with the comfort of my guitar strings that ache to be plucked and burn incense that I watch curl around my form like arms. If I were a time or a place I would be a Sunday night.


During such a time, I retreat into a still collection pool of my previous seven days. All of the places I have been and mindsets that have occupied me flash on the surface to remind me what I have learned and where I have come from. I will meditate on this, often romanticize it until it spills itself beautifully on lined paper, and carry my lessons into Monday while allowing my faults to seep through. Tonight marks the end of the last week in March, so reflection now regards my previous month of life. This March represents a maturing character and one who lives a balanced life.


02/28/2022
"January was a reading month, February allowed me to write. Now approaching March, I have bought two new books while I still reach for my pen in expression of my heart. January was an elaborate escape, February allowed me to feel. Now approaching March, I would like to think I am verging being healed." 

The prevailing words were those of mine a month ago, on a Sacred Sunday, reflecting on my life and setting the intentions for my forthcoming times. Recircling to my monthly intention back around during my monthly reflection makes me feel so whole and as if I really have finally mastered the art of balancing my life. I have read two books this month, which does not compare to January's excessive acheivement of five, but relects a healthy amount especially in comparasin to February's lack.


The fourth day of March was my eighteenth birthday which has caused me to put my past and my future into perspective for what it was and what it will be. Soon I shall pick my favorite tops and cart them into half of a closet in a shoe-box of a room two and a half hours away from this idle town I reside in. My best friend will remain here in the courses that are currently keeping me at bay. There will be nobody to ask me what I want from the grocery store that week or how my day was as I am rushing out the door. My perfect places that have accompanied me over the past few years will lie vacant and instead I shall find a nice tree to sit under on the quiet side of campus to fill that whole. I will be studying creative writing and branching out my connections both proffessionally and personally in order to fulfill the person I have always been destined to be.


If anything, this past month has shown me how capable I am of being that person I have always invisioned myself being. As a child I would obsess over who I may turn out to be and in retrospect I know for a fact that she would freak out over my accomplishments and goals. I would love how I finally cut bangs, the music I listen to, the people I surround myself with, and how reading and writing is still such a big part of my life. I am balanced. As April approaches, I see my buds begining to flower as I carry out some of the projects I have been working on and I pursue pushing my boundaries farther. My mind is a like a collage wall where there are constantly peices of magazine peeling off and this April I will calm that chaos by creating outlets for myself to develop all of those loose strings into nice little bows.


The thought of documenting this week's Sacred Sunday came to me about forty-five minutes ago when I opened my lap-top and now I am left with a possible series which might encourage me to bounce back into this platform I have. I hope you enjoyed a glimse into what goes through my mind on a typical Sunday night and I invite you all to join me in creating such a special time and place to retreat to at least once a week.


-Emma Claire

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page