top of page

LOST IN THOUGHT

  • Writer's pictureEmma Claire

It's So Typical

It’s so typical of us

To end it out in the rain

With letters, I’ll frame

Flowers to cover up the pain


It’s so poetic of us

To keep pretending we’re okay

When I can't even see your friend's face

Without remembering the way your lips taste


Sometimes I want to go back

But I don't wanna get stuck in the bad


The perfect polar opposite love affair

Disastrous extremes in the air

Don’t call my phone

Hate me for all I care

But just so you know blaming me really ain’t all that fair


It's so typical of us

To jump to drastic change

Not focus on the hate

Until its way too goddamn late


It's so poetic of us

To wish we never met

But you're not someone I regret

Even though knowing you was like playing roulette


Walked out into the rain that night

After I cried so much I thought I’d die

Thankful for the sky’s disguise

Wiped the evidence you brought to life

Now I am clean for the first time


Sometimes I want to go back

But I don't wanna get stuck in the bad


The perfect polar opposite love affair

Disastrous extremes in the air

Don’t call my phone

Hate me for all I care

But just so you know blaming me really ain’t all that fair


it’s typical

so typical

it’s typical

so typical

of you

it’s typical

so typical

it’s typical

so typical

of you

to turn this around

so typical of you

to blame it on me


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Love Affair Between the Good and the Bad

(Author's Note: I wrote this essay in August of 2022 as a mandatory assignment for my entire freshman class based on our common reading for the year titled, Renewal. Last week I got an email saying I

Windshield Wipers

On my way home, It starts to snow. It’s not cold enough to stick, Just stays there in sprinkles across my windshield, Melting into each other. I let the droplets pile up until I can’t see anymore, Lik

bottom of page