top of page

LOST IN THOUGHT

  • Writer's pictureEmma Claire

"Autumn Leaves Falling Down Like Pieces Into Place"

As I fell in love with October,

We fell in love in October

The light glimmering in the autumn air reminds me of the sun shimmering through the curls of your hair

And the prominent yellow dividing line describes this beginning stage where I try to find the limits while you are still mine

This distance is a matter of inches between drifting over into the left lane, where all will crash and burn in the pouring down rain.

Leaves land on my windshield with every note in this song before getting swept up again to somewhere far gone.

We stand with the turning leaves as a contrast in a gray world much like this thick fog and dreams.

Every time my tires spin on this part of road my heart expands and I swear I can hear your voice with me like the drop of a pin wherever it lands.

May it be the passing creek beds or flashing gold sign, everything is pristine beyond the sepia world behind and you are always mine.

In this ghost land every day is the same and nobody gives the creek a listen or the threshold of the yellow lines any question which is such a shame.

How much of a poor world it must be to have no knowledge of this secret club, but at least they must not fret about missing out on this golden little hub.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Love Affair Between the Good and the Bad

(Author's Note: I wrote this essay in August of 2022 as a mandatory assignment for my entire freshman class based on our common reading for the year titled, Renewal. Last week I got an email saying I

Windshield Wipers

On my way home, It starts to snow. It’s not cold enough to stick, Just stays there in sprinkles across my windshield, Melting into each other. I let the droplets pile up until I can’t see anymore, Lik

bottom of page