top of page

LOST IN THOUGHT

  • Writer's pictureEmma Claire

She

Waiting until no sound is heard,

Waiting until I can hear her voice once more.

My God, this torture is absurd,

But my consumption is such an allure.

I think it may lie within the word she being purred,

Or the taboo sense to ensure they cannot hear our words.


For the first time, this is not a lie,

Although it is a secret and one hard to deny

Every night we lie together and I watch the closing of her eye.

I think to myself how I missed those warning signs.

This is so real as I sit here and cry

For my lover, who would not even know if I died.


I will not let her go, but I will keep my word,

Forever and always now in ink, my heart so surged.

As I fell in love so fast and got a glimpse of my new world,

I kept on loving hard until the hand that was once yours got burned.

Now I slowly deteriorate into a girl who knows even less than before.


10 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

The Love Affair Between the Good and the Bad

(Author's Note: I wrote this essay in August of 2022 as a mandatory assignment for my entire freshman class based on our common reading for the year titled, Renewal. Last week I got an email saying I

Windshield Wipers

On my way home, It starts to snow. It’s not cold enough to stick, Just stays there in sprinkles across my windshield, Melting into each other. I let the droplets pile up until I can’t see anymore, Lik

bottom of page